Aircraft Maintenance Technology

APR 2014

The aircraft maintenance professional's source for technological advancements, maintenance alerts, news, articles, events, and careers

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 28 of 35 | 29 AWAM Recognizes the Late Tom Hendershot at WAI Conference The Association for Women in Aviation Maintenance presented the late Tom Hendershot with the Rich- ard C. Wellman Award at last month's Women in Aviation International Conference. Tom was a founder and the first exec- utive director of AMTSoci- et y. Accepting the award was Robin Lamar, the first president of AWAM and close friend of Tom. Lamar says, "Tom provided AWAM mentoring and support in the early days of AWAM and was always available to assist us." The Richard C. Wellman Award was established by the AWAM board of direc- tors in 2002 to recognize deserving men and women who consistently and con- scientiously champion the cause of women in the fields of aviation technology. Well- man was the Pratt & Whitney Customer Training Center Director and has been a key advocate of AWAM since its inception in 1997. 2014 AMC Awards We'll have more coverage in future issues but here are the highlights of this year's Aerospace Maintenance Competition: Schools: 1st Team Redstone 2nd Team Salt Lake Community College, Team 2 3rd West LA College General Aviation: Team Flight Options Commercial: 1st Team UPS 2nd Team FedEx 3rd Team Alaska Airlines MRO/OEM: 1st Team Boeing 2nd Team TIMCO William F. "Bill" O'Brien Award for Excellence in Aircraft Maintenance: Team Boeing AMTSociety 2014 Scholarship Recipients This year AMTSociety awards four scholarships of $1,000 each to individuals pursuing further education in aviation and aircraft maintenance studies. Congratulations go to this year's four recipients. The Charles E. Taylor Scholarship is award- ed to Ian Berg of Sunrise, FL. Ian began his aviation career in 2006 after graduating from the United Sates Coast Guard Aviation Tech- nical Training Center. He currently works as a quality assurance officer and is a qualified helicopter flight mechanic and flight mechan- ic instructor. Ian is pursuing his civilian FAA Mechanic certificate. The William "Bill" F. O'Brien Scholarship is awarded to Jesus Martinez of Corpus Christi, TX. Jesus began as an electronics technician in the United States Navy and after nine years left to finish his associate's degree in aircraft electronics. He then joined the reserves and is attending Del Mar College in Corpus Christi in pursuit of his FAA Mechanic certificate. The Thomas "Tom" E. Hendershot Schol- arship is awarded to David Williams of Fort Worth, TX. Also a veteran of the United States Navy, David is pursuing his FAA Mechanic certificate at Tarrant County College in Fort Worth and also plans to continue his educa- tion by pursuing an avionics and electronics degree. David volunteers at the school work- ing on the restoration of a Beech 18 once owned by Jaqueline Cochran. The U.S. Military Scholarship is awarded to Kurtis Haywood of Smyrna, TN. Kurtis is a veteran of the United States Army pursuing a Bachelor of Science degree in Aerospace Maintenance Management at Middle Tennes- see State University, and working towards his FAA Mechanic certificate in the AMT program. In the spring of 2013 Kurtis was named on the Dean's list, he's an active officer in the MTSU Aerospace Maintenance Club, and is a previous recipient of the NBAA Mainte- nance TRACS scholarship for a digital avion- ics course. Thanks to all who applied for this year's scholarships. In the months ahead, AMTSo- ciety will be updating the scholarship program for next year. Watch the AMTSociety website for further details. A M T S O C I E T Y U P D A T E Abaris Abelag AMFA Aircraft Technical Book Company Alberth Aviation ATEC Baker Aviation Baker's School of Aeronautics Barfeld Bell Helicopter Boeing CAE Cessna Dassault Falcon Dayton-Granger Del Mar College FedEx FlightSafety Intl. George T. Baker Aviation School Global Jet Services Goodrich Hartzell Engine Technologies Hertz Honeywell Kroger NCAT T Nida Corporation Northrop Rice Foundation Pratt & Whitney Pro Tech Technologies Proto Redstone College Salt Lake Community College Sensenich Propellers Silvertronic SkyOne Snap-on Industrial Spartan College of Aeronautics and Technology Spirit Avionics Trade-A-Plane Vincennes University West Star Aviation Wichita Area Technical College Corporate Sponsors From left to right; Robin Lamar former AWAM president, Ronald Donner AMTSociety executive director, Lynette Ashland current AWAM president, and Gary Goodpaster AMTSociety executive board at the AWAM reception during the WAI conference. AMT_29_AMTS Update.indd 29 4/3/14 2:17 PM

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Aircraft Maintenance Technology - APR 2014